City of Cosmopolis


The City of Cosmopolis operates under the mayor-council form of government, where policy and administration are separated. All legislative and policy-making powers are vested in the city council. The administrative authority, including veto power, is vested in the mayor.

The Cosmopolis City Council holds its regular meetings on the 3rd Wednesday during the months of January through September and on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays in October, November & December. The city council meetings are held at 7pm in City Hall.

Mayor Raines

Vickie Raines

Vickie Raines was appointed to Cosmopolis City Council in November 1999, and began serving her first elected term on January 1, 2000. She was appointed to the Mayor position in December, 2002 and subsequently elected as Mayor in January 2004. Mayor Raines was re-elected as the city’s mayor in 2008 and 2011.She is the first woman to ever serve as a City Councilmember or Mayor for the City of Cosmopolis.

With regards to community service, the Mayor has served on a variety of boards and committees throughout Grays Harbor County, including E911, Council of Governments, Coastal Community Action program, Chehalis River Basin Flood Authority, Grays Harbor Transit Authority and Greater Grays Harbor, Inc. (formerly GH Chamber of Commerce & Economic Development Council).

Vickie has resided in Cosmopolis since 1990; she and her husband, Jerry have three children.

Council Members

Default Staff

Frank Chestnut (Position 1) Chestnut was elected to the Council in January 2008 and re-elected in 2011. He is a lifelong resident of Grays Harbor and resides in Cosmopolis with his wife of 40 years, Sharon. They have two adult children and four grandchildren. His community service contributions include serving on the Cosmopolis School Board, as well as the City’s Planning Commission for nine years. Frank presently serves on the City’s Finance, Public Works and Parks & Recreation committees, in addition to the GH Council of Governments board.

Default Staff

Carl Sperring (Position 2) Sperring was elected to the Council in January 2008 and re-elected in 2011. He presently serves on the City's Auditing, Finance, and Public Safety Committees. Carl also serves as the city’s Legislative Representative and previously served on the City’s Planning Commission.

Default Staff

Jim Ancich (Position 3) Ancich was elected to the Council in January 2008 and re-elected in 2011. Jim is a lifelong resident of Grays Harbor, who currently serves on the City's Finance and Public Works committees.

Default Staff

Debbie Moran (Position 4) Moran was elected to the Council in January 2010. She is the Chairwoman of the City’s Parks, Recreation & Cemetery committee and also serves on the Auditing & Finance committees.

Default Staff

Jonathan Fischer (Position 5) coming soon.

Latest from facebook

Important Numbers

Fire Department
(360) 532-6429

9am - 12pm

Police Department
(360) 532-9237

Monday - Friday
8am - 5pm

City Hall
(360) 532-9230

Monday - Friday
9am - 5pm

In Emergency Dial 911